PHI Devotional – Celebrating God's Faithfulness

A collection of daily devotionals from a variety of Contributors at Pro-Health International

FEBRUARY 13 – FAITH LIKE DAVID’S

Leave a comment

“David said to the Philistine, “You come against me with sword, with spear and with a javelin. But I come to you in the name of the LORD of hosts, the God of the armies of Israel, whom you have defied.” (I Samuel 17: 45 NKJV).

READ: I Samuel 17: 32-58

 

The story of David and Goliath is a story which most of us know by heart. One day I read this passage in the Bible again without really expecting to get anything new out of it but it spoke to me differently. 

 

Picture the scene: The huge giant Goliath, covered with armor, carrying a sword and a shield, confident of his own strength armed with well trained body, his skills and battle experience and audaciously calling out for someone brave enough to fight him. Then here comes along a little boy, David armed with nothing but a sling and stones and most importantly his faith in his God! To the watching crowd, this handsome but daring lad stands no chance at all. Fast forward to the end of the story and the outcome is totally unexpected. David wins!  What great faith! 

 

Who do you trust in when situations appear hopeless? Do you trust your wisdom or experiences to help you or do you trust God first? What is the ‘Goliath’ you are facing right now? Are there financial, family, job, career, marital or health difficulties? My encouragement for you is face the situation like David did: First by remembering all that God has faithfully brought you through in the past and then declare to that situation: I come against you in the name of the LORD Almighty! You may not feel like you have the strength, wisdom or resources required but that’s okay. It’s in your weaknesses that God delights to manifest His strength and as you go forth in faith, be rest assured that He has gone ahead of you.

 Prayer:

Lord, I am so grateful that You are fighting for me. With You by my side, I do not have to fear anything or anyone! My trust is on You Lord, in Jesus’ name. Amen.

Leave a Reply

