PHI Devotional – Celebrating God's Faithfulness

A collection of daily devotionals from a variety of Contributors at Pro-Health International

FEBRUARY 14 – FREE TO FLY

Leave a comment

“…Because God has said, “Never will I leave you; never will I forsake you.” (Hebrews 13:5 NIV).

READ: Hebrews 13:5

 

The story was told of a little boy who fell into a crocodile pond. As his mother frantically called for help, the crocodile grabbed his left hand. The mother went after her son and a tugging matched between the mother and the beast ensued. While the animal struggled to drag the boy away, the mother held on to his leg and pulled with all her might. She was eventually able to rescue the child. Later on, after the boy had been discharged from the hospital, a crew of journalists gathered around to get the story. The little boy held up his hands and proudly showed off his scars. “Were these caused by the teeth of the crocodile?” he was asked. “No!” he responded, “these are because my mummy won’t let go!” Like this woman God never leaves us. Our lives are insured in Him.

 

 I can be like the acrobat who has a target as he takes the plunge but who still knows at the back of his mind that even if he misses the mark and falls, there’s a safety net provided to catch him. And that’s what I do: JUMP! I am free to fly! Even if I miss the mark (which I do a lot of times!), my Father will catch me and nudge me forward for another try… until I get it right! And while I’m at it on this inevitable obligation called the human-race, He’s cheering at me from the sidelines; when I pause to catch my breath, He wipes the sweat off my brow, gives me a gulp of refreshment, and whispers encouragements in my ear: “I’m not out of touch with your reality, I’ve been through and experienced it all, I believe in you and I’ll be waiting for you at the finishing line!” He will NEVER give up on me! And I will NEVER forget that!

 

Prayer:

My dear Father, I thank You for arming me with strength; with You I can scale any wall of challenge. Amen.

Quote:

Behind me is infinite power. Before me is endless possibility. Around me is boundless opportunity. Why should I fear?  – Stella Stuart.

Leave a Reply

